LibGuides: Political Science: Web Links

Presidents

American President: A Reference Resource
The American Presidency Project
The Cabinet
Compilation of Presidential Documents
Consists of both the Daily and the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents. The Daily began in 2009.
Executive Orders and Other Presidential Documents: Sources and Explanations
Compiled by the Law Librarians' Society of Washington, D.C. (LLSDC)
Executive Orders Disposition Tables Index
Information starting with Franklin D. Roosevelt up to the present administration.
The First Ladies
Information on the First Ladies throughout U.S. history.
George W. Bush Archived Site
Detailed archives of George W. Bush and his presidency.
House Expenditure Reports
Sunlight Foundation
POTUS Presidents of the United States
Background information, election results, cabinet members, notable events,and other interesting information.
President
Includes many useful links to historical documents, salary documents, etc.
Presidential Expenditures
Access to data on spending by Presidential candidates.
Presidential Recordings Program
"Between 1940 and 1973, six American presidents from both political parties secretly recorded just under 5,000 hours of their meetings and telephone conversations.
Through a combination of historical research and annotated transcripts the Miller Center's Presidential Recordings Program aims to make these remarkable historical sources more accessible to scholars, teachers, students, and the public."
Presidential Tax Returns
Tax History Project
Presidents of the United States: Resource Guides
Library of Congress
Public and Private Papers
Sources for presidential papers from the Scripps Library. Check our catalog to see if we own some that are listed here.
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States
Includes the administrations of George H.W. Bush to Barack Obama.
State of the Union Addresses and Messages
American Presidency Project
Vice President of the United States (President of the Senate)
Voting America: United States Politics, 1840-2008
Provides cinematic & interactive maps, and analysis, of the Presidential elections in the United States from 1840-2004, down to the county level.
The White House
William J. Clinton Archived Site
Archived information on Bill Clinton and his presidency.

Think Tanks

Policy Archive
A digital library of public policy research containing over 30,000 documents.

Think Tank Search
From Harvard's Kennedy School of Government library; custom Google search + list of hundreds of US and international think tanks. Think tanks are defined by the above as institutions affiliated with universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, non-governmental organizations, and businesses that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity.
Find Policy
Policy research from policy research organizations
Bipartisan Policy Center
"The Bipartisan Policy Center (BPC) drives principled solutions through rigorous analysis, reasoned negotiation, and respectful dialogue. Founded in 2007 by former Senate Majority Leaders Howard Baker, Tom Daschle, Bob Dole and George Mitchell, BPC combines politically-balanced policymaking with strong, proactive advocacy and outreach."
Center for Budget and Policy Priorities
A premier policy organization working at the federal and state levels on fiscal policy and public programs that affect low- and moderate-income families and individuals.
Migration Policy Institute
The Migration Policy Institute (MPI) is "an independent, nonpartisan, nonprofit think tank in Washington, DC dedicated to analysis of the movement of people worldwide. MPI provides analysis, development, and evaluation of migration and refugee policies at the local, national, and international levels."
Political Science Resources Think Tanks
Think Tanks
Description and history of Think Tanks.
Think Tanks and NGO's
Index of international think tanks and research organizations.
Council on Foreign Relations
"The Council on Foreign Relations is an independent, nonpartisan membership organization, think tank, and publisher dedicated to being a resource for its members, government officials, business executives, journalists, educators and students, civic and religious leaders, and other interested citizens in order to help them better understand the world and the foreign policy choices facing the United States and other countries."
Nelson A. Rockefeller Institute of Government
Many useful reports and data.
Pro/con
"Pros and Cons of Controversial Issues"

Other Websites

About.com:U.S. Politics
Almanac on Policy Issues
Background information, archived documents, and links on major U.S. public policy issues.
Congress.org
Identifies contact information for elected leaders in Congress, the White House, state legislatures and more.
CQ Roll Call
Campaign coverage and 2010 election information, and articles from Roll Call writers Stu Rothenberg and Morton M. Kondracke and more.
Earmarks Database
Earmark data from the U.S. Congress is now searchable for FY 2008, 2009, 2010
Expectmore.gov
The Federal government reports on how well its agencies are performing and what measures it is taking for improvement.
USA Spending
USAspending.gov is the publicly accessible, searchable website mandated by the Federal Funding Accountability and Transparency Act of 2006 to give the American public access to information on how their tax dollars are spent.
Open Knowledge Repository
"The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products."
Political Graveyard
Biographical information on past politicians
Political Information.com
"A search engine for: Politics, policy, political news and everything else!"
State of the Union
From C-SPAN, covers many of the current political issues of the day
Sunlight Foundation Congress App
Free iPhone/Android App. Anyone who is interested in keeping tabs on Congress and who owns a smartphone ought to download this app.
The Pew Research Center for the People & the Press
U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO)
Helps to improve the performance and accountability of the federal government for the benefit of the citizens of the United States.
U.S. Peace Institute
The U.S. Peace Institute provides the analysis, training and tools that help to prevent, manage and end violent international conflicts, promote stability and professionalize the field of peacebuilding.
USAID
USAID is the principal U.S. agency to extend assistance to countries recovering from disaster, trying to escape poverty, and engaging in democratic reforms. Their work supports long-term and equitable economic growth, advances U.S. foreign policy objectives by supporting, economic growth, agriculture and trade, global health and democracy, conflict prevention and humanitarian assistance.
Witness and Response: September 11 Acquisitions at the Library of Congress
"On September 12, 2001, the American Folklife Center at the Library of Congress asked folklorists and other ethnographers across the nation to record the thoughts and feelings expressed by ordinary people following the tragic events of September 11. This audio project echoes one conducted sixty years ago, on December 8, 1941 ..."
WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources
Good resource to connect to Directories, News, Country Information, Organizations, Topics on human rights, security, international issues and more