Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome the History Resource LibGuide
This guide should provide you with some simple resources to help you with your courses.
The Atlanta Constitution (ProQuest Historical Newspaper)
This database offers full-text and full-image articles from the Atlanta Constitution dating back to 1868. Access is provided to digital reproductions of every page from every available issue in downloadable PDF® files. Coverage ends in 1925; more recent articles from the Atlanta Journal and Constitution can be found in LexisNexis Academic (selective content, 1991-) databases.
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Civil Rights Digital Library
The struggle for racial equality in the 1950s and 1960s is among the most far-reaching social movements in the nation's history, and it represents a crucial step in the evolution of American democracy. The Civil Rights Digital Library promotes an enhanced understanding of the Movement by helping users discover primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale.
Civil Unrest in Camilla, Georgia, 1868
The Civil Unrest in Camilla, Georgia, 1868 collection, located at the DeSoto Trail Library and comprised of photostatic copies from the Freedman's Bureau records held by the National Archives, consists of letters, affidavits, reports and a newspaper clipping relating to a violent episode in Camilla, Georgia.
This database serves as a finding aid for Hargrett's broadsides holdings and provides digital versions of most broadsides. The images provided are the property of the Hargrett Library. They may be used for personal study and instruction, but other uses require permission of the Library.
Historic Architecture and Landscapes of Georgia: The Hubert Bond Owens and John Linley Image Collections at the Owens Library
Historic Architecture and Landscapes of Georgia: The Hubert Bond Owens and John Linley Image Collections at the Owens Library, a joint project between the College of Environment and Design, University of Georgia and the Digital Library of Georgia, contains 1500 images of important and representative architectural sites and landscapes in the state with an emphasis on Athens and Middle Georgia.
History of the University of Georgia by Thomas Walter Reed
From 1885 to 1950, Thomas Walter Reed was an eyewitness to much of the University of Georgia's history, as well as one of the best-loved members of the campus community. Retiring as Registrar in 1945, he began to draft a monumental history of the University.
History Reference Center (EBSCOhost)
History Reference Center is a full-text history reference database designed for secondary schools, public libraries, junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research. The database features reference books, encyclopedias, non-fiction books, and history periodicals as well as thousands of historical documents, biographies of historical figures, photos, maps, and over 80 hours of historical video.
The images consist of a wide array of photos and maps, with an emphasis on world news and events. Other areas of coverage include contemporary and historical photos of people, places, and the natural kingdom.
Internet History Sourcebooks Project
Welcome to The Internet History Sourcebooks Project, a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use.
New York Times
The New York Times is included in the ProQuest Newspapers database but can be searched as a separate resource. To browse The New York Times issue by issue, click on the Publications link then select the year and issue.
Today in Georgia History
Today In Georgia History is an exciting, award-winning educational project that focuses on an historical event or person associated with a particular day in Georgia history. These short segments aired daily on GPB television and radio stations across the state from 2011-2013, and are now archived and available on this site.
U.S. Newsstream (ProQuest)
US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest Newspapers)
The Wall Street Journal is included in the ProQuest Newspapers database but can be searched as a separate resource. To browse The Wall Street Journal issue by issue, click on the Publications link then select the year and issue.
The Washington Post
This publication's detailed indexing helps users quickly find the news information they need. Each issue is indexed thoroughly, so they have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the paper.