History: History Resources

The Digital Library of Georgia is a GALILEO initiative based at the University of Georgia Libraries that collaborates with Georgia's Libraries, archives, museums, and other institutions of education and culture to provide access to key information resources on Georgia history, culture, and life.

Historical photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more from across the country.

3D scans of artifacts that can be printed into 3D images.

Florida Memory is a digital outreach program providing free online access to select archival resources from collections housed in the State Library and Archives of Florida. Florida Memory digitizes materials that illuminate the state's history and culture.

Georgia's Virtual Vault provides access to historical Georgia documents from 1733 to the present.

The Georgia Historic Newspapers Archive is a project of the Digital Library of Georgia (DLG), a part of Georgia's Virtual Library GALILEO and is based at the University of Georgia Libraries. Since 2007, the DLG has partnered with universities, archives, public libraries, historical societies, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions to digitize historical newspapers from around the state. The archive is free and open for public use.

Harvard Digital Collections provides free, public access to over 6 million objects digitized from our collections - from ancient art to modern manuscripts and audio visual materials.

U.S. Congress legislation, Congressional Record debates, Members of Congress, legislative process educational resources presented by the Library of Congress.

Resources contain Reconstruction-era federal records, portrait of Black Chicago, and other topics.

Explore 861,907 items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections. This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.

The Open Textbook Library is a collection of textbooks that are licensed for public use. Their textbooks have been reviewed by numerous colleges to test their quality. These textbooks can be downloaded for free or printed at a low cost.

The David Rumsey Map Collection was started in the mid 1980s and contains more than 150,000 maps. The collection focuses on rare 16th to 21st century maps of North and South America, the World, Asia, Africa, Europe, and Oceania. The collection includes atlases, wall maps, globes, school geographies, pocket maps, books of exploration, maritime charts, and a variety of cartographic materials.

The State Archives of Florida collects, preserves and makes available for research the historically significant records of the state, as well as private manuscripts, local government records, photographs and other materials that complement the official state records.

The Vanderbilt Television News Archive is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. We have been recording, preserving and providing access to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968. The core collection includes evening news from ABC, CBS, and NBC (since 1968), an hour per day of CNN (since 1995) and Fox News (since 2004).

Yale Daily News, founded on January 28, 1878, is the oldest college daily newspaper published in the United States. The Yale Daily News Historical Archive provides access to digitized versions of printed issues of the Yale Daily News, the student newspaper of Yale University. The full text of these issues is indexed and searchable through the web interface. The historical archive begins in 1878 and ends in 1995 and access to the digital content is open to the world, representing 20,623 issues.

Digital collection provided by Yale University Libraries that cover topics such as the Day Missions Collection and School of Drama Photographs.