Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use this subject guide to help you find resources related to sociology.
Browse the Collection
||History of Soc.
||Theory | Method
Suggested Sociology Databases
Academic Search Complete
Contains more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of 10,600 publications: including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Searchable cited references are provided for nearly 1,000 journals.
Films on Demand
Consists of 7,000 video titles (77,000 segments) in Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Health, and Science. Also includes the new collection of United Newsreels which includes an additional 260 titles (1,250 segments).
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Includes articles from 410 full-text journals covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
Provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects and includes full-text access for thousands of titles: including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
Social Science Journals
Includes over 570 titles, with more than 340 available in full text, and provides information on hundreds of topics: including addiction studies, urban studies, family studies, and international relations.
Includes more than 475 full-text titles and provides information on all areas of sociology: including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture, and social structure.
Science Direct offers a large database for content involving scientific and medical research. Their website hosts over twelve-million pieces of content with over three-thousand academic journals and thirty-four thousand e-books.
Additional Sociology Databases
SocINDEX with Full Text
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library. Scholarly full-text articles in Sociology.
Family and Society Studies Worldwide
Scholarly database in the Marriage and Family Therapy, Sociology, and Social Work fields.
Social Services Abstracts
Coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas.
Social Work Abstracts
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), this comprehensive collection offers extensive coverage of more than 850 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965.