Welcome
Use this subject guide to help you find resources related to psychology.
Browse the Collection
| BF | Psychology |
| RC 435-571 | Psychiatry |
Course Descriptions
PSYC 1101 (Introduction to General Psychology)
This course is a broad survey of topics in psychology including but not limited to major theoretical perspectives, the scientific process, development, personality, learning, mental disorders and mental health, and biological, environmental, and social factors influencing behavior.
PSYC 2101 (Introduction to the Psychology of Adjustment)
This course is an examination of principles underlying psychological health and well being. Attention is given to ways of preventing maladjustment and coping with life's circumstances. It includes applications of psychological theory to the treatment of mental disturbances.
PSYC 2103 (Introduction to Human Development)
This non-laboratory course examines human development from a lifespan perspective. It examines theoretical explanations for development and has an emphasis on patterns of physical, cognitive, and psychosocial development across the lifespan.
SOCI 2215 (Social Psychology)
This course investigates the relationship between individuals and their social world. Using a symbolic interactionist perspective, it includes an exploration of how our thoughts, feelings and actions are structured by society and how individuals actively produce social realities. Students will learn to apply theories and methods to everyday life and how they can take a more active part in their society.
Suggested Psychology Databases
- Academic Search CompleteContains more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of 10,600 publications: including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Searchable cited references are provided for nearly 1,000 journals.
- Films on DemandConsists of 7,000 video titles (77,000 segments) in Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Health, and Science. Also includes the new collection of United Newsreels which includes an additional 260 titles (1,250 segments).
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences CollectionIncludes articles from 410 full-text journals covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
- PsychINFOIncludes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law, and others.
- Research LibraryProvides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects and includes full-text access for thousands of titles: including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
- Social Science JournalsIncludes over 570 titles, with more than 340 available in full text, and provides information on hundreds of topics: including addiction studies, urban studies, family studies, and international relations.
- Science DirectScience Direct offers a large database for content involving scientific and medical research. Their website hosts over twelve-million pieces of content with over three-thousand academic journals and thirty-four thousand e-books.