Music: Home

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database is updated daily and features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for nearly 1,000 journals.

This scholarly collection offers full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic and multicultural studies, food science and technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies, and other fields.

Entries on artists include a musician/musical group's history, roots and influences, musical style, discography, guest performances, and reviews.

Links communities with composers and performers, in the making, playing and enjoyment of new music.

AIM supports interest in Medieval, Renaissance, and early Baroque music. The publications of the Institute are used by scholars and performers alike and constitute a major core collection of early music and theoretical writings on music.

Films on Demand consists of 15,500 video titles (77,000 segments) in Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Health, and Science. Also included is the new collection of United Newsreels which includes an additional 260 titles (1,250 segments).

Features articles, audio equipment reviews (under News ), the editor’s choice of 10 best recordings of the month, a directory of U.K. distribution companies and their labels, and an international classical music news service.

The Historic Brass Society is an international music organization concerned with the entire range of early brass music, from Ancient Antiquity and the Biblical period through the present including the development of jazz and its influence on brass instruments, literature and playing techniques. The history, music, literature and performance practice of early brass instruments such as natural trumpet, natural horn, early trombone, cornetto, serpent, keyed bugle, keyed trumpet, early valve horn, 19th century brass instruments are some of the main issues of concern to the HBS.

International organization established in 1981 to promote inquiry, scholarship, and analysis in the area of popular music.

Classical music CD and concert reviews.

The Open Textbook Library is a collection of textbooks that are licensed for public use. Their textbooks have been reviewed by numerous colleges to test their quality. These textbooks can be downloaded for free or printed at a low cost.

Search the database by title, artist, label, format, category, and award.

The RMA, founded in 1874, is the second oldest society of its kind in the world. Our many conferences and study days engage with music of all kinds on many levels. Three regular publications - the Journal of the Royal Musical Association, the RMA Research Chronicle and the RMA Monographs series - are part of our wide-ranging organization.

Society for American Music is dedicated to the study, teaching, creation, and dissemination of musics in the Americas