Skip to main content

Nursing Resources

Databases and journals for nursing students at ABAC.

GALILEO Tips

  • Limit your searches to keywords- don't use sentences.
  • Use the 'Advanced Search' option, located beneath the general search bar, to add in limits such as language of publication, date of publication, and type of resource, as well as to search with Boolean operators (And, Or, and Not)
    • Advanced Search also provides an autofill function, so you can see what terms GALILEO might be using as keywords
  • Make use of the limiters on the left-hand side of the GALILEO search to filter your results
    • Common limits include "Full Text", "Peer Reviewed (Academic)", and Subject, which allows you to see all other keywords GALILEO has associated with your search
  • Try searching for your "perfect article title": if you were writing an article that had exactly what you needed to find, what would you title it?
  • Don't be afraid to do a general search.  You will want to focus in on specific databases at some point in your research, but searching through GALILEO in its entirety can reveal hidden gems that could be perfect for your research
  • Use the tools on the right hand side of the abstract page of a search result. In particular, the Save, Print, and Email tools can save you a lot of work by keeping you from having to repeat your research every time you start a new GALILEO session by ensuring you have a copy of the article at all times. The Cite tool provides you with (mostly) accurate citations which can be copied and dropped directly into a Bibliography, References, or Works Cited page.
  • If you find a useful resource on GALILEO, but the full text is not present, simply email the abstract to the library (using the "Email" tool) and we will use GIL Express or interlibrary loan to get a copy of the resource. Don't forget to include your email address in the Comments section of the email so we know who is making the request!

Google Scholar

Google Scholar operates in the same familiar method as a standard Google search, so you may find it more comfortable to use than GALILEO. However, many results on Scholar only provide the abstract of an article or request that you pay to access the article. Instead of paying for the resource or being left with an abstract or citation that cannot be used on its own, there are a few steps you can take to acquire the full article. First, try plugging the article's name into a GALILEO search. Many times, the full text of the article will be available through GALILEO, allowing you access to what you need. In this way, Scholar can be used to search in a more familiar format to find the title of a useful article before acquiring the article through GALILEO. If our virtual library does not have the resource, DON'T PANIC. Simply email your librarians a copy of the citation and we will reach out to other institutions in order to have the resource sent to us. This can occur through either GIL Express or interlibrary loan, so the amount of time it will take for the resource to arrive can vary from a few hours (in the case of emailed electronic copies) to a few weeks (for books that have to travel).